Monday

How to Get a Motorcycle License in Maine


Motorcycle License in Maine








If you live in the state of Maine and you want to ride a motorcycle on public roads, you’re required to possess a motorcycle endorsement. This is applied to your state-issued driver’s license. If you’ve recently moved to Maine it’s important to note that Maine’s rules for obtaining a motorcycle endorsement may differ from others. Every state has its own set of rules and regulations about the legal operation of a motorcycle. Maine is one state that does require motorcycle riders to have comprehensive knowledge about safely operating motorcycles on public roads. It requires a minimum of two different training courses just to qualify to apply for a license. Here is everything you need to know about obtaining your motorcycle endorsement in the state of Maine.


Do you need a Maine endorsement if you have another license?


Non-residents with a motorcycle license from another state can operate a motorcycle legally on Maine roads. You may also drive a motorcycle legally if you are at least 16 years old and hold a motorcycle permit from another state. New residents of Maine must transfer motorcycle credentials from another state within 30 days from the date of the change, according to the Maine dept of Licenses. The one exception is for licenses and permits from the state of Alabama. Maine does not accept these motorcycle credentials.


Requirements to get a motorcycle endorsement in Maine


Maine has enacted a law that requires everyone who applies for a motorcycle endorsement to first complete a hands-on rider education program. This will earn you a motorcycle permit that makes it legal for you to practice to get your license. This includes iriding on Maine roads legally once you have the motorcycle permit. To obtain a motorcycle permit, you must be at least 16 years old and complete your basic driver education course. The basic rider’s course is 15 hours in duration with a hybrid training of classroom time and hands-on vehicle operation. All new riders must take this course that is taught by trained rider coaches approved by the BVM.


Motorcycle Safety Course


Maine also requires that all applicants for a motorcycle endorsement must enroll in and pass a Motorcycle Safety Course. The course is offered by a variety of motorcycle rider education schools that partner with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The course that you choose must be approved by the BVM. In the safety course, students learn about braking maneuvers, traffic strategies, maintenance of the motorcycle, protective apparel, the rules of the road, safety considerations, techniques for controlling the motorcycle, and more. The approximate cost for this course is $325.


Required tests


Everyone seeking a motorcycle endorsement or permit is required to take and pass a written test to obtain a permit initially. A minimum score of 80 percent correct answers is required to pass according to Permit. bike. This means that you must pass a minimum of 40 of the 50 questions on the written test to pass. Upon passing the written test, you are required to take the certificate of completion, your permit application, and your picture identification to the BMV. Next you will be required to pay a fee to get your motorcycle permit. You will also be required to pass a vision test. The fee for the motorcycle permit is $10. Fees are subject to change from one year to the next.








Restrictions for motorcycle permits and licenses


Once you get your motorcycle permit to practice for your endorsement there are a few restrictions that you must observe. Drivers with a permit have a newly added benefit. While night driving was previously prohibited the rules have changed to allow you to ride day or night. You may not carry any passengers with you if you’re driving with a permit. Those who have recently received their motorcycle license cannot carry passengers until 60 days after the license has been earned.


BMV road test


The motorcycle road test isn’t usually difficult for motorcycle operators who have completed a motorcycle driving class. The duration of the test is usually between 10 and 20 minutes. It must be scheduled with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You will need to bring your motorcycle, helmet, and other required safety gear with you. The test is administered on the BMV property. The road test allows you to pay the fee and replace your permit with a Maine motorcycle endorsement, according to Central Maine Motorcycle School.


Special requirements for drivers under age 18


If you are between the ages of 16 and under 18, you must either have an automobile driver’s license or permit or have completed an approved Driver Education Course with proof of completion to qualify as an applicant for your motorcycle permit. You will also need a signed consent form from a parent or guardian.


Final thoughts


Getting a motorcycle endorsement is not difficult if you take a basic motorcycle education course followed by an approved motorcycle safety course. Even if you are inexperienced as a rider, these two courses will provide you with knowledge of the rule of the road and give you a solid overview of motorcycle safety, the requirements for safety gear, and everything that you need to know to pass the written portion of the examination. You will also gain hands-on experience operating a motorcycle within the confines of a safe course. Once you obtain your motorcycle permit, you will have the opportunity to legally practice riding to improve your motorcycle skills on the roads to prepare for your road test to get your motorcycle endorsement. This endorsement will allow you to legally operate a motorcycle on all Maine roads with public access. If you move to another state, you must check in with their requirements. Remember that each state sets its own rules about motorcycle operation, safety gear, and how to obtain a license for new residents.





Source



::-
Previous Post
Next Post